Chapter 1


fanaa (فنا‎ fanā) is a mystical concept, meaning "passing away" or "annihilation" (of the self/the individual ego): to die before one dies. This work is inspired by 12th century Persian-Sufi poet Attar’s book The Conference of the Birds.

fanaa combines elements of Persian calligraphy and mystical philosophy with digital technology to dive into an audiovisual poetic journey. Homami is invested in exploring altered states of consciousness through music and image.

The musical dramaturgy leads the audience through a rapidly shifting landscape of tonal scenes. Haunting synthesizer patches hum in a space of ambiguity between lush vibrancy & asepsis. In a nod to the relentless journey of Attar’s birds across ever-higher mountains and through ever-darker valleys, fanaa presents a score in which cinematic ambience, punctuated with chasmic low-end frequencies, gives way to a multiverse of intense, atmospheric, and industrial-flavored minimal dark techno interludes that at times feels both organic & mechanical.

fanaa explores the unbecoming breaking down of the individual ego and a recognition of the fundamental unity of all that exists within the individual self. The story unfolds throughout four chapters: Arrival, Dissolution, Absolute Nothingness, and Rebirth.

fanaa is part of a larger project which consists of a concert piece, installation, prints and a screening version.

fanaa has been shown worldwide, including at Mutek (Canada), Stereolux (France), MULTIPLICA (Luxembourg, Hellerau (Germany) and Tehran Contemporary Sounds (Germany).

Total Length 00:29:04

Release date:
25 May 2022

Concept, Composition: Sahar Homami
Additional Composition: Jason Zolghadr, Stefano ‘Menion’ Ferrari
Mix / Master : Stefano ‘Menion’ Ferrari 
Produced by: Sahar Homami
Artwork: Sahar Homami

Made possible with generous support from Musikfonds e.V.

© all rights reserved

Copyright © 2023 Sahar Homami